From music videos to full-length movies to vlogs, Youtube has it all. That is why people tend to spend a lot of time watching videos and live streams on Youtube. However, what people don’t know is that the more videos you watch in it, the more space it eats up on your smartphone or computer because the watched history will fill up quickly.

Actually, it is convenient to have a record or a history of everything you’ve watched on Youtube because if you want to watch a certain video clip again next time, you will be able to see it easily and you don’t have to search for it again on the search box. But, not everyone wants Youtube to record and track their watch history. That is why we are here to help.

If you’re one of those people who don’t want to have their watch history saved on Youtube, then you should remove it on a regular basis. Don’t worry, because doing it is very easy. Read on to see our step by step guide.

 

Deleting Youtube History on Computer

 1. Open your browser and go to https://www.youtube.com. If you’re already logged into your account, you can proceed to the next step. If not, then you have to log in using your username and password.

 2. Navigate to the left side of your screen and choose the History option on the menu. You will be redirected to the History page of Youtube.

 3. Click the “Clear all watch history” option, which is located on the right side of the Youtube History screen. A pop-up window will appear on your screen, confirming your action to delete Youtube history on all devices.

 4. To complete the deletion, just click the “Clear all watch history” option again.

5. On the other hand, if you don’t want to clear your entire Youtube history and just want to remove certain videos in it, you can hover over the title of the video that you want to delete and click the X beside it.

 

Deleting Youtube History on Mobile Phone

 1. Open your YouTube app. If you’re already logged into your account, you can proceed to the next step. If not, then you have to log in using your username and password.

 2. Tap the Library button, which is on the right side of your screen. It has a folder icon.

 3. Choose the History option on the menu. At the upper-right corner of the screen, look for the three dots or lines stacked vertically. Tap it.

 4. Click the History Controls option on the menu. Look for the History and Privacy header. Click the “Clear watch history” option under it.

 5. A pop-up window will appear on your screen, confirming your action to delete Youtube history on all devices.

 6. To complete the deletion, just click the “Clear all watch history” option again.

 7. On the other hand, if you don’t want to clear your entire Youtube history and just want to remove certain videos in it, you can scroll and look for the title of the video that you want to delete. After that, click the three dots next to it. Then, tap the option that says Remove From Watch History.

 

Automatic Deletion Feature for Youtube Watch History

Google has made a feature that deletes your activity and search history automatically from Youtube. Your data will be restored by default but on Google servers, it will all be wiped every 18 months, depending on how you set it. Other than your watch history, these auto-delete settings can also be applied to Web & App history and your Location history.

 

Delete Youtube History Automatically on Mobile Phone

Using your mobile phone, you can directly set up the automatic deletion of your Youtube history. It is more convenient than setting everything up on your computer. Other than that, you will most likely watch Youtube videos more using your mobile phone than your desktop so it’s best to set the automatic deletion on your phone. Here’s how:

 1. Open your YouTube app. If you’re already logged into your account, you can proceed to the next step. If not, then you have to log in using your username and password.

 2. Tap the account avatar. It is located at the upper-right corner.

 3. Go to the bottom of the list. Scroll down until you see the Settings option. Tap it.

 4.  Look for the History & Privacy option on the Settings menu. Choose Manage All Activity afterward.

 5. You will be redirected to the history page of Youtube. Look for the “Choose to delete automatically” and tap it. It is located at the top of the Youtube video list you just watched.

On the other hand, if you don’t want to store any video history, you can tap the Change Setting instead of the Choose Delete Automatically option. It is under the YouTube History Is On section. You will be able to stop saving watched videos on YouTube history. Youtube searches will not be saved as well.

 6. Set how long you want to keep your watch history. Tap the Next button after setting up.

 7. The next section will be the Youtube History Activity page. It will explain what happens when you set up the automatic deletion feature.

 8. Once done, tap Confirm. The automatic deletion setting will now be saved and your history will be automatically deleted after the date you’ve set up.

 

Delete YouTube History Automatically on My Google Activity

You can also go to the My Google Activity website to set up the automatic watch history deletion.

 1. Go to the left side of the page and click the Activity Controls option on the menu. You should click the hamburger menu icon first so the side menu appears.

 2. Look for the YouTube History section. Choose the Manage Activity option on the menu.

On the other hand, if you don’t want to store any video history, you can tap the disable button of YouTube History instead. You will be able to stop saving watched videos on YouTube history. Youtube searches will not be saved as well. You can also uncheck the box next to the “Include your Searches on YouTube” or the “Include the Youtube Videos You Watch” option.

 3. Look for the “Choose to delete automatically” and tap it. It is located at the top of the Youtube video list you just watched.

 4. Set how long you want to keep your watch history. Tap the Next button after setting up.

 5. The next section will be the Youtube History Activity page. It will explain what happens when you set up the automatic deletion feature.

 6. Once done, tap Confirm. The automatic deletion setting will now be saved and your history will be automatically deleted after the date you’ve set up.